2000 Ford Ranger

Welcome to DezertRangers
Join the community. Register today for all the benefits of membership.
Register
Nov 27, 2018
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Okay, so I have a 2000 Ford Ranger 4wd with a 3.0L V6... Me and a friend got to talking and we want to build our trucks for prerunning, but at the same time, I need it as a daily driver... So I've heard great things about this site and I'm gonna need some help along the way... So some of the first things I'm gonna do are, a 3-4 inch lift with some 33s (maybe 35s?), Bed Cage, and I definitely want to do the 2017 Raptor conversion. I am fairly new to building trucks. So some tips on suspension, longer a-arms, recommended travel (im thinking about 12 inches or so), I beam conversion. Things like that would help ALOT.
Snapchat-1161268120.jpg
It is DEFINITELY a project for sure... not in the best condition.

Last edited:

the bodj

1st post pg805
Mar 4, 2010
Moorpark
There's a whole lot to unbox in that post. A-arms, I beams, raptor conversions, lift kits...

Read, read, and read stuff on here. The search function sucks so most people don't use it. Cruise through the DR Rides section, check out threads of trucks like yours, and read them from start to finish. Good luck with the truck!

yltaco05

Jan 18, 2006
Seal Beach, CA
I would suggest not doing the I-beam conversion. If you want I-beams, get an older ranger. With that said, you can probably find a 4x4 TTB ranger for cheaper than a long travel kit for your current truck. That would give you a DD and a separate play truck that you can take your time building right, and if you ever break anything, you still have a truck to get you to work and other responsibilities.

If it was my money. Id pick up a 97 or older 4x4 ranger with a 4.0, convert the front do full-size TTB off an f-150 or bronco. Many different ways to go in the rear. Depending availability of used parts in your area and how much work you are able to do yourself, could be a very cheap project.