Benefit to larger rezzy than shock body? Intro to my new shock quest

Welcome to DezertRangers
Join the community. Register today for all the benefits of membership.
Register

ASHCAT

Dec 8, 2016
Any advantage to retrofitting a 2.5 remote rezzy to a 2.0 shock?

Currently running 2.0 14” king C/O but want to upgrade to their compression adjusters on all 4 corners. Just a thought while I have them apart and will be purchasing the new reservoirs.

Been reading a lot of mixed info about 1:1 axle mounted shock applications. Vehicle in question is a (soon to be) 4,800lbs Ultra4 solid axle, front engine and 55/45 split. Single shock vehicle. Bypasses aren’t feasible for this build in particular. Disc brake Dana 60/70, trussed and 37s (130lbs/corner tire/wheel) I read the 2.0 is pretty much maxed out at that kind of weight but 2.5 is trying to move too much oil and isn’t of any benefit for 1:1.

I’m new to shock tuning but have a pretty good grasp of the fundamentals. I’m familiar with the parts. Been into my fox 2.0 bumps to destroke them and have since revalved them, tried a new oil, adjusted the oil volume and will be working with nitrogen pressure once I get the shocks straightened out. Prior to my first KOH I had a local tuner molest my setup. (Factory king F15/10). Guy turned out to be a self proclaimed know it all and a flake. His fees were ridiculous and claims were false. Heavier and heavier spring rates with no preload was his go to game plan. This turned the vehicle into an unpredictable and violent death trap. A local racer advised me to go back where I was with springs and I’ll be damned if that’s not exactly what king prescribed on the lakebed. Lighter is better. Originally I was 150/200 14” springs x4 out of the box. I later changed to 185/200 front and 175/200 rear. The front was still a bit too light after the first season of wheelin. Kings advice was 150/200 rear and 200/250 14”/16” front. I like it and I’m going to keep these springs. Post race fueled my