Little Bird

Welcome to DezertRangers
Join the community. Register today for all the benefits of membership.
Register

littlebird

Feb 26, 2019
NY
I studied philosophy at a well ranked university for four years, but somewhere along the road I became captivated by off-road racing as practiced traditionally by folks out on the West coast, Mexico, and in various pockets across the U.S. Prior to college I had intended majoring in mechanical engineering as during high school I was in my own way an off-road enthusiast within the Subaru community. Tragically, my best friend died in a car accident in October 2013 during our senior year of high school because of this I became disillusioned with life in general. This is what ultimately lead me to study philosophy. Kevin and I were like brothers. We were both huge fans of rally cross and its golden age during the Colin Mc'Rae era. We both drove Subaru WRX's, mine a 2002, and his a 2004 which he built himself by swapping the entire drive train of a totaled WRX into his Impreza RS in order to have WRX performance but without the insurance increase. Kevin and I also down hill mountain biked together. It was these two hobbies and our love for them that probably lead me to long travel prerunners. The thrill of tearing down a bumpy gravel road in my glorified Subaru sedan paired with the experience of piloting a mountain bike with 9 inches of suspension travel lead me to believe that launching a truck over some whoops is probably a thrill worth pursuing.