Nissan 3.0 Turbo sand rail

Welcome to DezertRangers
Join the community. Register today for all the benefits of membership.
Register

madmax_087

Semi-Enthusiastic
Aug 30, 2007
Chandler, AZ
Operation Total Rebuild

Picked up this little rail about a week ago, should be a fun project if I can keep the modifying momentum going. It's a bit rough, and I'm pretty new to the VW and Nissan stuff, but it's all so basic I'm pretty much teaching myself as I go along. Plus, it isn't like I'm breaking new ground here, everything I need or want to do has been done before so there are plenty of resources online.

The day me and my pops picked it up:

Once we got it home to test it out, we discovered it has a fuel supply issue, see video below:

It dies if you quickly let off after 3/4+ throttle. The Nissan guys think it's a sensor or vacuum line somewhere, so... Yayyy. :rolleyes:

Last edited:

madmax_087

Semi-Enthusiastic
Aug 30, 2007
Chandler, AZ
Whoever built the main frame was a real decent welder, everything is solid and square. BUT, whoever got it after him was a terrible welder, didn't give two shits about making things square or if things held together once it was running and driving. I will get more pictures of examples of this total hack work inside this otherwise well-built frame.

Last Saturday we took the rail out for our maiden voyage with it. Boosting around 10-12 PSI, she pulls like a freight train! And that turbo whistle... Mmmm!! After a short 20 min. shakedown run though, the (presumably stock from an 80's 300ZX) radiator developed a leak right in front of the intake/turbo. Not wanting to risk a catastrophic failure in the desert, we loaded it up and regrettably drug it home. We decided it was a good time to get the radiator out from in between the seats and the engine pulleys and mount it higher. Total interior tear down ensued this afternoon:

I hadn't noticed this before, but, gee... That cross bar looks a little wonky, yeah?